Skip to content
January 27, 2012 / rickhermelin

More testing of the new 39 tooth chain ring

Rode to Carlsbad and back on a similar route to one I did on the 15th and the difference in average speed was only one tenth of a mile slower, 11.3 vs 11.4 mph. On the flats my maximum speed was aroung 16 to 17 mph, with the 53 tooth it had been around 20 mph. Still fast enough and did not affect the average speed by much. This is still one of my favorite coastline rides. The picture shows the turn around point from an earlier ride.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jim Wallace / Jan 28 2012 6:12 am

    Speaking of average speed. My rule of thumb on bicycle touring is 10 mph average. So that if you plan on 60 miles you’ll be on the road about 6 hours. Years ago I did a cross country ride, that went from San Francisco to Boston, with a large group. We had riders with all different kind of abilities. At first there was 2-4 hours difference in ride time but by the end of the trip the fast guys were more laid back and the slow folks were stronger OR about 10 mph average.

    Jim Wallace

    • rickhermelin / Jan 31 2012 1:01 pm

      Thanks Jim, that is more or less what I had figured when calculating about how many hours on the road I would average. I know some days will be faster and some slower depending on the terrain.
      During my training runs I have averaged between 10 to 12 mph. I am not going to try to see how fast I can go during the trip.

  2. Bryan Pate / Jan 28 2012 7:17 am

    What do you think? Do you like the lower gearing?

    • rickhermelin / Jan 31 2012 1:08 pm

      Sure makes those uphills easier. My top flat speed is around 16 mph, which is about what you calculated.

      • Jeanne Wilson / Jul 4 2012 9:47 am

        Rick congrats on your cross country trip. I am intending to do the same. I am a 65 yr. old retired Realtor from Ohio. I love my ElliptiGO and was wondering who installed your new 39 tooth chain ring and who supplied it? Would also like to find other ElliptiGO riders to do cross country trip. How can I obtain your routes?

      • rickhermelin / Jul 4 2012 2:20 pm

        Jeanne, ElliptiGO installed the new chain ring, contact Keri at ElliptiGO for ordering and changing information.
        For the routes look on the 100 Days for the Corps page in Facebook where I posted the Garmin trip data each day. http://www.facebook.com/100daysforthecorps

  3. agie / Apr 6 2012 6:23 pm

    hey wrud

  4. Gerri / May 18 2017 6:24 am

    I've never really been blown away by Hominy Grill. It's good, but I think thee;&#39rs much better in Charleston. Looks like y'all had a fun weekend!

Leave a Reply

