Skip to content
February 29, 2012 / rickhermelin

Leap Day 54 mile ride

 

Had a good ride to the Semper Fi Fund offices near the Naval Hospital and the Wounded Warrior Battalion in Camp Pendleton. I started at my place in Cardiff, went through Carlsbad, Oceanside, and the last 10 miles through Camp Pendleton for 27 miles each way. It was pretty chilly when I started at 8 am so put on an extra top layer but had to take it off for the ride back.

The staff at Semper Fi Fund had a nice array of food and snacks ready for me which I enjoyed very much. After a 2 hour visit/rest I headed back with stronger winds. Some head winds through Camp Pendleton but mostly side/tail winds from Oceanside back to Cardiff.

This distance is about the same as my longest daily ride, around 55 miles, on the trip coast to coast. This plus a 59 miler last month and the 71 miler on my birthday lets me know I am ready to handle those long mileage days coming up.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. johnpilk / Mar 1 2012 4:22 pm

    Looking good in all the new stuff!

Leave a Reply

