Skip to content
March 23, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 1 – Beaufort to MCRD to Ridgeland, SC

After  interviews with a couple of Savannah, GA TV stations in the Waterfront Park in Beaufort, SC I set off to the main gate at MCRD Parris Island, SC and then continued on to Ridgeland, SC. The roads varied from fast moving 4 lane highways with good shoulders to narrow 2 lane roads with no shoulders. It got a bit warm along the ride due to the late start so I made a couple of stops to get some cold sport drink. At the second stop, just 6 miles from Ridgeland, I had the good fortune to run into Ben Rountree at Cooler’s Grocery. Talking about my trip and about where I was staying along the way, I mentioned that I was mostly depending on the kindness of strangers to put me up for the night. Ben did not hesitate to offer me a place to stay in his home in Ridgeland with him and his wife Katie. I have enjoyed a very relaxing afternoon and evening and he is even trying to find me a place for tomorrow night in Springfield, GA.

The weather has been very good so far overall but tomorrow might be a wet ride with 40% to 60% chance of Scattered Thunderstorms both here and in Springfield in the forecast.

 

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kathy Wise / Mar 24 2012 6:11 am

    Rick, I’m so happy to hear that you have already found the kindness of others! So happy I was able to be part of your send off. Wishing you nothing more than sprinkles of rain today!!

    • rickhermelin / Mar 24 2012 3:19 pm

      It was my pleasure meeting you. Only light showers on the ride to Springfield, GA but downpour after I arrived (I stayed dry).

    • Wood / May 18 2017 5:07 am

      Smoking is bad for your health. I think everyone should know that. We college students are about 18 to 22 years old. The organs in our body are still young and fresh. We shodnul’t lay expose under the second hand smoking. Our body has a great future, why should we have to harm our body by smoking at the first place? In my opinion, colleges in Taiwan should follow the law that no smoking in the public area and the public interior area. Smoker should be aware that once you are smoking, you’re harming others as well as yourself.

    • brick car / May 20 2017 9:56 am

      Ai André que lugar lindo, fiquei com vontade de conhecer! Sem falar que amo fazer esse tipo de viagem…Adorei as fotos, os vídeos e os comentários, rs.Beijinhos.

  2. Mindy / Mar 24 2012 9:21 am

    Awesome Rick!!! Xxx. Mindy

  3. Andreas Johansson / Mar 24 2012 1:52 pm

    Hi Rick, glad to hear you are doing well on the road. I am a bit jealous, but it won’t be that long before my tour starts now.

    • rickhermelin / Mar 24 2012 3:23 pm

      Looking forward to read about your journey before long.

  4. johnpilk / Mar 24 2012 6:41 pm

    Good job Rick 98 to go! Andreas, Jorge, Miles and I rode to the Mt Soledad Korean War memorial today, we were all thinking about you! Stay safe and dry.

Leave a Reply

