Skip to content
March 29, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 7 – Pridgen, GA to Ocilla, GA

Started the day in Douglas where Chief Carver took me to breakfast on the way back to Pridgen so I could get back on route. Got going with the use of the GPS. According to Google Maps it was supposed to be just over 24 miles but the GPS decided to take me on the scenic route and it turned out to be a bit over 34 miles. I’ll have to learn when to ignore it and have it “recalculate” a different route.

Once in Ocilla, I went to the County Board of Commissioners Office to meet EMS Director Jerry Edwards. He sent one of his crew members to pick me up and take me and the GO to the EMS Center where I will spend the night. Shortly after arriving, a reporter from the Ocilla Star came by to do an interview, it’s the local weekly paper and will post next Wednesday. After getting something to eat I continued to catch up on the computer, do laundry, clean the GO, and relax a bit.

Around 6:30 pm the reporter, Jessica Fairley, from Fox 31 in Albany, GA came by to do an interview which will air tonight. After a dinner (supper here) with the station crew, pictured below, here I am bloggin 🙂

Tomorrow I will head to Ty Ty, GA to meet with Jason Jones of the Tifton, GA EMS Center where I will spend the night and continue from Ty Ty on Saturday. The contact with Jason was arranged by Director Edwards.

 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Margarita / Mar 29 2012 7:20 pm

    Ricardo, you.need to learn how to take pics that aren’t blurry! Not acceptable! LOL. Keep up the work!

  2. Jim Wallace / Mar 30 2012 5:27 am

    Rick, your looking good out there buddy.

    What’s your average speed been?

    jim

    • rickhermelin / Mar 30 2012 5:33 pm

      Right around 12 mph moving average. That’s with a lot of rolling hills!

      • Jim Wallace / Mar 31 2012 5:17 am

        Good thing about climbing hills is the down side.

Leave a Reply

