Skip to content
March 30, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 8 – Ocilla, GA to Ty Ty, GA

Today was the start of the second week! I covered 231.72 miles the first week.

Got a good start from the EMS Station and stopped at a local restaurant for breakfast but nothing appealed to me so waited until Tifton, about 2/3 of the way, where I stopped at a Waffle House and had a delicious pecan waffle and eggs. I then continued on to Ty Ty  and was photographed by a reporter from the ABC TV station in Albany, GA at various spots then interviewed when I arrived at the Post Office where I was meeting Jason Jones, Director of Tift County EMA.

Jason took me and the GO back to Tifton where he put me up at the local Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites which I am enjoying very much. Tomorrow one of his staff will take me back to Ty Ty so I can continue on route.

Speaking of the route, I have made a change on the recommendation of the Ocilla EMS personnel to change from Bridgeboro to Albany since there is not much in Bridgeboro and it would be difficult to find somewhere to stay. With the help of the Ocilla staff, I was contacted by Kyle Thomas, the Public Affairs Officer from the Marine Base in Albany and offered a place to stay tomorrow night at the base.

I have not said much in my previous blogs about the Injured Marine Semper Fi Fund because I was assuming everyone reading them would already know that is the fund I am raising funds and awareness about on my journey. If you have not visited the Fundraising Page please do so and pass it on to your circle of friends.

 

 

Leave a Reply

