Skip to content
March 31, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 9 – Ty Ty, GA to Albany, GA

After a complementary breakfast in the hotel, Vicky (pictured below), Jason Jones’s Assistant Director took  me to Ty Ty to continue on my route. Nice cool ride for Day 9, started dry for the first hour then had showers the next two. Stopped and talked to some nice people including a County Sheriff who saw me on Fox and Friends in NYC. Got soaked but with water, most other days I’ve gotten soaked with sweat, water much better 🙂

Arrived at the Marine Corps Logistics Base in Albany where I was given a tour of the base by two sergeants before meeting with Lt Kyle Thomas, Public Affairs Officer, who took many photos and did a thorough interview for the base newspaper. He also introduced me to the Base Sergeant Major, SgtMaj Conrad E. Potts, who gave me a medal from the Base Commander in recognition for what I am doing.

Spending the rest of the day taking care of my wet things and relaxing a bit. Tomorrow I head to Newton, GA, my next to last stop in GA.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ed Hermelin / Mar 31 2012 6:38 pm

    Uncle Richard: If you’re reading this, I want you to know how proud of you I am for this grand undertaking of yours. I know my dad would have felt the same way, if not more proud not only as your brother but also as a fellow Marine. OORAH!

    -Eddie

    • rickhermelin / Mar 31 2012 8:11 pm

      So good to hear from you Eddie. Thanks a lot for your good thoughts. See you when I get back.

  2. Margarita / Apr 1 2012 6:17 am

    Good morning Ricardo! Thanks for the update. So happy you are doing well! Hope you have a dry one today! 🙂

    • rickhermelin / Apr 1 2012 12:54 pm

      I did have a dry one and still got soaked anyway.

  3. Ben Rountree / Apr 9 2012 2:40 pm

    Hey Richard. It’s ben rountree from Ridgeland. Your doing it! I’m so glad to have been apart of this journey and sure enjoy checking up on you through you post! Stay safe

  4. voges adam / Dec 28 2014 10:02 pm

    Hey…. thanks for sharing a wonderful experience in your life with us.I think its such a wonderful adventure…

Leave a Reply

