Skip to content
April 1, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 10 – Albany, GA to Newton, GA

One tenth of the way down, only 90 days to go 🙂

Got a good start this morning from the base after watching the raising of the flag. Nice and cool and a little foggy but good visibility. Not as hilly today and passed by many large farms. Arrived in Newton and spent the next couple of hours, and an extra 10 miles, trying to find a place to stay for the night without much success until I stopped at a Dollar Store and asked the people in line if they could help me find a place. Luckily there were a couple of members of the local EMS station who offered to put me up.

After a fried chicken lunch, for which a local man picked up the tab and one of the staff gave me a nice donation for the Semper Fi Fund, at a small restaurant across the street from the store I went to the station. Took a shower, doing laundry, and catching up with the computer work: emails, Facebook, donations, blogging, etc. Next, a lot of relaxing and getting ready for tomorrow.

This is the medal the Sergeant Major at the Marine Base gave me yesterday and the Headquarters Building as I was leaving this morning.

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. daniel raczka / Apr 1 2012 8:39 pm

    Hi Rick
    Dan (and Lisa) following you here in sunny Thousand Oaks, Great blog, you’re looking good, very fun to follow your daily events. Rick how do you see traffic coming up from behind?? I don’t see any mirrors on your bike. I hope you’re being extremely vigilant especially on those narrow roads. I remember stopping on my way into yosemite on my bike due to roads being too narrow so please be extra careful.

    Good luck will keep a watch here and add some sponsor monies as well.

Leave a Reply

