Skip to content
April 6, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 15 – DeFuniak Springs, FL to Crestview, FL

This is the start of week three! Gone 495 miles averaging 33 miles a day at an average moving speed of 12 mph at the end of day 15.

Here are some pictures of the new crew and Asst. Fire Chief Charles Burney at the fire station in DeFuniak Springs I took this morning. Chief Burney contacted Battalion Chief Marquis L. Johnson at Fire Station One in Crestview, FL and arranged for my stay here tonight. Chief Johnson in turn has helped arrange for my stays at fire stations in Milton, FL and Pensacola, FL. The help and hospitality from all the Fire and/or EMS facilities in Georgia and here in Florida has been terrific. I only hope to do as well as I go through the other states on my route.

Today was a very cool day which made the ride easier and more enjoyable with a mix of gray skies and blue skies with fluffy white clouds. Not too many farms today but lots of pine trees. Stopped at a gas station for a short rest where a driver asked me if I was too old to be doing what I was doing. I told him not at all. That made me think that you are only too old to do something if you think so yourself or listen to others who tell you you are too old.

Enjoyed a nice buffet lunch at Uncle Bill’s here in Crestview and a giant burger here at the fire station for dinner. Earlier today Chief Johnson took me for a tour of the other two smaller fire stations in town where I had the oppotunity to meet the staff. Now I have been catching up with the computer “stuff” like emails, Facebook, blogging, and looking up any other information like weather forecasts and route mapping. When done I will relax with my Kindle eReader.

Monday morning, while still in Pensacola, I am scheduled to do a live TV interview on ABC station WEAR at 6:30am where I will have the opportunity to tell more people about the Injured Marine Semper Fi Fund and my 100 Days for the Corps adventure.

 

 

Leave a Reply

