Skip to content
April 9, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 18 – Pensacola, FL to Orange Beach, AL

Got up early this morning to go do a studio interview at about 6:50 am at Station WEAR ABC 3 right next to the fire station. After breakfast, Battalion Chief Grace gave me a ride to the main post office in Pensacola to pick up a package. I was almost out of 100 Days for the Corps cards and had Erika Nelson at ElliptiGO send me some more.

It was almost 10 am when I set off for Orange Beach and made pretty good time, with a couple of short stops, I arrived at Fire Station 1 around 12:15 pm. Randy Lowe from Station WKRG ABC News 5 was waiting for me, just as we finished the interview, Christian Jennings from NBC Local 15 arrived to do another interview. Both of those TV stations are in Mobile, AL. After a quick lunch I headed over to Fire Station 2, about 1 1/2 miles away, where they had better accommodations for me.

Battalion Chief Jeff Smith contacted Fire Chief John Wiggins in Bayou La Batre, AL and arranged for my stay there tomorrow. It has really been helpful knowing I have a place to stay ahead of arriving at a destination.

Here is a picture of the Station 2 crew.

Leave a Reply

