Skip to content
April 12, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 21 – Pascagoula, MS to Gulfport, MS

Got an early start from Pascagoula this morning, around 7:30 am. Allowed for a stop at the Verizon Wireless store in Ocean Springs, MS to get the WIFI Hot Spot on my cell phone activated. This way I will have a WIFI connection for my computer as long as my cell phone is connected to a good signal. Many thanks to Sam Jackson of the Orange Beach, AL Fire Department and Gary Bardwell of the Pascagoula, MS Fire Department for the use of their cell phone Hot Spots. Below is a picture of some of the members of the Pascagoula, MS station.

Passed a lot of nice beaches through Biloxi and Gulfport, mostly empty this time of year, and arrived at the fire station around noon where I was welcomed by the station Fire Chief Michael Beyerstedt. Later I also met Deputy Chiefs James Donlin, who helped make a connection with Assistant Chief Tony Mallini in Waveland, MS for my next stop, and William Bragg, who was my original contact at this station.

When entering Gulfport I stopped to take a couple of pictures for my nephew Eddie who was born here while his father, my brother Edward, was working in Biloxi.

Debbie Slingerland from Malone, FL, my first stop in Florida, commented on my Facebook 100 Days for the Corps page that she was given the keys to the city by the Mayor for having hosted me. She and her husband Jack were wonderful hosts and deserved the honor. See a couple of pictures below taken in front of their home shortly before I departed to Chipley, FL.

 

Leave a Reply

