Skip to content
April 13, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 22 – Gulfport, MS to Waveland, MS

Start of week three!!!

Here is a picture of some of the Gulfport Station 1 crew and another “Gulfport” mention for my nephew Eddie.

Today was another short ride, less than 20 miles, and one of my fastest, 14.2 mph average speed. More nice but empty beaches most of the way. Four lane road but no shoulders at all. Traffic was light and I was given plenty of room by the vehicles.

Assistant Fire Chief Tony Mallini welcomed me to the station, a brand new facility only three weeks old. He also contacted Chief Bill McInnis in Slidell, LA, my next stop, and made arrangements for my stay there tomorrow. It will be a longer ride, about 28 miles, but still less than my average so far, just over 32.5 miles.

Took the opprtunity to take a bit of slack out of the chain, which I had been meaning to do the last few days.

Leave a Reply

