Skip to content
April 17, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 26 – Hammond, LA to Walker, LA

Today was a rainy day, it rained about 2/3 of the way to Walker. This is only the fourth rainy ride so far but the wettest I have gotten. On top of that I did an extra 9 miles after stopping at a store and getting turned around and heading back for 4 1/2 miles before figuring out I was going the wrong way. On sunny days I know by the shadows which direction I am headed but not on a cloudy, rainy day.

I did another interview for a local newspaper in Hammond before leaving and a photographer for the local Walker paper was here to take some pictures shortly after I arrived. Tomorrow in Baton Rouge I am scheduled to do a TV interview in the afternoon and maybe more.

Here is a picture of tonight’s crew. At this station they only have part time firefighters so they work 12 hour shifts instead of the 24 hour shifts at all the other stations I have stayed at.

 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bernie / Apr 17 2012 8:49 pm

    You’re funny! Going wrong way-been there-done that!Keep on truckin’ brother!

  2. turdpolishertv / Apr 19 2012 8:02 am

    Thanks for sharing your story with me. And for not running over me crouched on the side of the road! Good luck. I’ve already got photog friends along your route asking about you.

    • rickhermelin / Apr 19 2012 3:34 pm

      You are very welcome.
      I am making changes to my route so keep an eye on it. Good up to Austin.

Leave a Reply

