Skip to content
April 20, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 29 – Livonia, LA to Opelousas, LA

Start of week 5!!

Got a ride this morning from the fire station in Livonia to the west side of a 4 mile long bridge with no shoulders that seemed too dangerous to ride on the ElliptiGO. This made for a shorter ride than originally planned, this is made up by the extra miles I accidently rode on the way to Hammond and Walker, LA.

I stopped at a convenience store with a restaurant where the manager insisted on cooking me breakfast even though they were not open yet and then did not let me pay. This is one of many such experiences I have had on this journey. A man, Lenny Hall, stopped me on the road to Opelousas to donate to the Semper Fi Fund and have his picture taken with me. His son Jeffery emailed it to me today, see below.

Did another TV interview this afternoon for Station KATC out of Lafayette, LA. There was a short feature about me in the 6 pm news.

Here are a couple of pictures of some of the Opelousas crew members.

 

Leave a Reply

