Skip to content
April 24, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 33 – Rest day in DeRidder, LA

Enjoying a relaxing day in DeRidder with my host Michelle Williams and her family. I was not planning on any rest days but in the process of rerouting through Louisiana I was able to delete one travel day. I will do the same in Texas, where I head to tomorrow, when I get to Austin, TX and stay with a personal host there.

Got to see a lot of DeRidder, eat good food, meet some of Michelle’s friends and went to the post office to mail some “stuff” I did not need any more to ElliptiGO Inc. Need to keep my load to a minimum. Combined the contents of the two Gear for the GO bags into the large one and put it on the bottom of my backpack after the soaking from the rain last week between Hammond and Walker, LA.

Visited the Beauregard Museum, which used to be the old railroad station, and enjoyed hearing about some of the local history from one of Michelle’s former teachers who now is the curator at the museum.

Here is another picture from the Volunteer Fire Station in Reeves, LA which I could not get to post last night. Also a couple of pictures at the museum, one with my host Michelle.

 

 

Leave a Reply

