Skip to content
May 2, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 41 – Lincoln, TX to Elgin, TX

Got a good night sleep on an air matress in the meeting room of the Volunteer Fire Station in Lincoln. Had the building all to myself. Here is a picture of Edward Markert, Assistant Fire Chief, who picked me up early this morning and took me to his house where I shared a good breakfast with him and his wife.

Got a bit of rain this morning, just a light one that felt good since it helped keep it cool. Got to Elgin in good time with a better average speed than the last two days. When I arrived it was decided they could not put me up overnight at the Volunteer Fire Station because of jurisdiction issues so they decided to put me up at the local Holiday Inn Express when I mentioned that a couple other Fire Departments had done so already.

Tomorrow is going to be a busy media day in Austin where I am going to spend another rest day with my personal host Marta Sebastian.

 

Leave a Reply

