Skip to content
May 6, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 45 – Wimberley, TX to Blanco, TX

Got a late start today due to rain and thunderstorms most of the night and into the late morning. Though it was a shorter ride today it was a hot and tough one, giving me a new low average speed day, 9.9 mph, the hills were rough. I thought I would be hosted by the Blanco EMS Department as I was last night by the Wimberley EMS Department. With less than 3 miles to go to their building I got a call telling me that they could not host me.

I ended up staying at a local motel, the Swiss Lodge, where the owner gave me a 10% break on the rate. This is the first time in 45 days that I had to pay for a place to stay, thanks Marta. Tomorrow is a longer ride and more hills but I will start earlier and looks like it will be cooler.

Here is a picture of a couple of the Wimberley EMS Department crew this morning.

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Mary Forman / May 6 2012 8:28 pm

    Looking forward to your arrival in Leakey on Wednesday. It’s a beautiful, but tough, ride through the Hill Country.

Leave a Reply

