Skip to content
May 9, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 48 – Medina, TX to Leakey, TX

Day 47 was a long, wet ride from Fredericksburg to Medina. Just under 50 miles and it rained all but the last 5 miles or so. Stopped at nice coffee house where I met Heidi Klaassen who asked me where I was staying. I said I did not know and she offered to host me after I told her what I was doing. Her husband Travis took me and the ElliptiGO to their home in the country where I spent a very nice evening with them and their children, Ali, Emitt, and Tessa. This morning he took me back to town from where I continued my trip. I did not have a good internet connection on DSL which is why I did not post yesterday.

Today was a hard 35.5 miler with lots of tough hills. The last 5 days since I left Austin have been the hardest days so far. The weather was good and dry and the countryside was very nice. I decided to spend an extra day here in Leakey and get a ride to Camp Wood on Friday from where I will continue to Rocksprings. With the extra miles I put in the last few days it more than makes up for skipping the short ride from Leakey to Camp Wood and the rest will feel good.

I am being hosted by Mike and Mary Forman. I was featured on the front page of today’s local newspaper thanks to Mary and she arranged to have me speak about my trip to the Lions meeting tomorrow evening.

No picture today.  Have a good one of the Klaassen family but no Verizon connection here either. Do have good WIFI at the Forman’s.

 

Leave a Reply

