Skip to content
May 10, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 49 – Rest day in Leakey, TX

Good thing I took today off. We have had more than 4 inches of rain today. The Lions Club meeting I was going to speak at got cancelled because of the heavy rain. One of the pictures below shows the road I rode into town on yesterday and on which we drove earlier today coming back from Utopia, TX where we had a very nice lunch. Tomorrow should be better for my ride from Camp Wood to Rocksprings, I may still get some rain but not the heavy stuff like we had today.

I spent a very nice and relaxing day with my hosts Mark and Mary Forman. One picture shows Mike and I eating ice cream cones outside the library yesterday where Mary does volunteer work a couple of days a week. Yesterday Mary showed me the local newspaper where I was featured on the front page. The other picture shows Mary and I enjoying a cup of coffee at Ella Purl’s Trading Post in Leakey earlier today (couldn’t turn it upright).

Since we did not go out for dinner we made pizzas, see picture, and enjoyed a nice dinner here at their house.

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lisa B / May 11 2012 9:22 am

    So glad you enjoyed your time with my friends Mary and Mike. I hope you were able to rest up a bit — you still have such a long way to go. Semper Fi!

  2. Mary F / May 11 2012 8:00 pm

    Thanks, Lisa, for telling us about Rick. We enjoyed his company! And he brought us much needed rain!

Leave a Reply

