Skip to content
May 23, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 62 – Vinton, TX to Las Cruces, NM

Left Vinton early this morning, around 7 am, to get to Las Cruces before the wind stared blowing hard. Used the Interstate 10 and arrived around 9:30 am, about half an hour earlier than I had indicated since I was moving very well and only took one short break. This early arrival gave me more time, after taking a shower, to walk around the old but newly refurbished part of town.

The main fire station where I am staying is next to other government buildings, including a brand new and very nice City Hall. I explored the local farmer’s market, various art galleries, and a very nice Cultural Center with a good display of the history of the city and the whole region. By then the wind was strong enough to blow down some of the tents in the farmer’s market.

Tomorrow is supposed to be windy even earlier. The wind will be from the west and I will be heading north so it should not bother me too much. I will still start early, by 7:30, and should arrive in Rincon, near Hatch, between 10 and 10:30 am.

Here are a couple of pictures of some of the Las Cruces Fire Department crew members in front of their respective trucks.

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Andrew Rivas / May 23 2012 9:13 pm

    My home town! I will be arriving there next Friday after completing my bike ride from Flagstaff for the 3rd Annual LtCol. Raymond T Rivas Memorial Ride. We may cross paths along the way.

    • rickhermelin / May 24 2012 3:19 pm

      Check out my The Route page, I am not following the Southern Tier route anymore.

Leave a Reply

