Skip to content
May 24, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 63 – Las Cruces, NM to Rincon, NM

Got an early start but the winds were stronger earlier today than yesterday. There was also substantial climbing adding another element of difficulty. I rode by a Border Patrol Check Stop and had a nice chat with some of the officers. There was a stretch of real bad shoulder surface from about a mile before the check stop to near the off ramp for Rincon, about six or eight miles total. My original stop was going to be Hatch, NM about 5 miles north but Chief Jorge Au recommended I stop in Rincon where I would be able to enjoy better overnight accommodations.

I arrived around 11 am and was met by the Chief’s wife, JaCinda Mae, who gave me a tour of the facility, very nice. She offered to make me a nice lunch and went home while I took a shower. She came back shortly after that with a delicious spaghetti and meat sauce dish, a salad, bread sticks, and fruit. It was all very good. Later today  they will come back to prepare dinner here at the station, I look forward to that. They are pictured below.

Leave a Reply

