Skip to content
June 10, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 80 – El Mirage, AZ to Wickenburg, AZ

A gentle up slope all the way and a mild tail wind made today’s 36.5 mile ride relatively easy. Arrived at the fire station around 11 am and met the crew and had a few snacks and some cold drinks. A bit later I got a ride to their workout facility about a mile away in the center of the city right next to the Police Station building. They did not have a place at the station for me to stay overnight so they lent me an army cot which I will put up and used my sleeping bag with it in the Smokeaters Hall, see pictures below.

After taking a shower I walked the few blocks of the downtown area, most of the stores and the Western Museum were closed since today is Sunday. Ended up having a Mexican lunch at Anita’s Cocina Mexican Food, a well-known restaurant here. I will go back for dinner on the house later since the owner is one of the fire crew’s mother.

The crew helped me arrange my next stay in Aguila, AZ by calling the chief there, Chief Bob Edwards. I called him myself later and got things set up for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

