Skip to content
June 11, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 81 – Wickenburg, AZ to Aguila, AZ

Stopped by the station on my way west from the “Fireaters Hall” to take some pictures of and with some of the Wickenburg Fire Department crew. See pictures below.

First 10 miles mostly uphill but the rest of the way a gradual decline. Made it to Aguila, about 26 miles, in just over 2 hours. This is a Volunteer Fire Department but there is someone here during the day. Tonight I will be alone in the building on another cot but using their sleeping bag this time, a bigger sleeping bag.

Chief Edwards already gave me information to connect with a Salome Fire Department member, Doug Wolf, who will help me with overnight hosting and also help me connect with the fire department in Quartzsite, AZ, my last stop in Arizona before getting to Blythe, CA. Looks like I will skip the stop in Brenda, AZ as Chief Edwards says there in no place to stay there. That will make it a longer ride that day and I may spend an extra day in Quartzsite to keep the schedule on track.

Leave a Reply

