Skip to content
June 25, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 95 – Descanso, CA to Julian, CA

As I mentioned yesterday, I had missed a turnoff and went about 3 miles further on Hwy 79 when I met some dirt-bike riders that gave me directions to get to Descanso, here is a picture one of them took of the other two riders and me.

When I arrived at the Descanso Fire Station this is the message Zack and Rick had put up on their white board and also a picture of them.

Left Descanso a bit after 7 am expecting a tough ride. The first 10 miles were mostly uphill until I got to the Guyamaca CalFire Fire Station where I stopped to say hello. This is the oldest Fire Station in California having been established in 1934. The crew members invited me to stay for breakfast with them and I could not pass up the offer. It was delicious!

The remaining 11 1/2 miles to Julian were mostly flat or downhill with just a few climbs After settling in and taking a shower I had a sandwich for lunch and then took a short walk to the central Julian area where I had a slice of apple pie which Julian is famous for.

Tomorrow’s ride to Ramona will be mostly downhill, a drop of about 2800 feet over 22 miles, so should only take me about an hour and a half and I will not leave as early.

Here are a couple of pictures of the Julian crew members.

 

Leave a Reply

