Skip to content
June 26, 2012 / rickhermelin

Day 96 – Julian, CA to Ramona, CA

After a good breakfast with the Julian Fire Station crew, I took off for Ramona a bit after 8:30 am. Did not need to leave as early because today’s ride was mostly downhill, there were still a few climbs including the last 5 miles but still finished in just over 2 hours for the 29 miles.

Arrived at the fire station in Ramona in time to join them for lunch. Captain Cesar Nerey and his crew follow an old tradition at their station of putting on their dress shirts for meals. This is the only station of the many  I have stayed in that have that tradition. They observed the same tradition for dinner.

After dinner most of the crew took turns trying out the ElliptiGO. They were all surprised at how easy it was to get the hang of it.

I would like to mention that this is the 53rd Fire and/or EMS Station to host me, directly or indirectly, during my trip across the country. The first four days I was hosted by families and individuals and the same applies for the last four remaining days. When I started back on March 23rd, I only had three days where someone had committed to host me, now near the end I am happy to say that I have been hosted every single day of the 100 day trip.

The main theme of my trip has been “100 Days for the Corps” and a while back I added the sub-theme “Fire Stations Across America”, this was when I was only about half way across in anticipation that I would continue to be hosted by more along the remaining states. Now that I am almost to the end of the trip, that anticipation has become a reality.

In appreciation of the effort put out by many individuals at the fire stations, from Hazlehurst, GA to Ramona, CA and special thanks to Captain Gregory Kelly from Slidell, LA, I want to repeat the sub-theme again:

FIRE STATIONS ACROSS AMERICA

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jean Gosse / Jun 27 2012 3:18 pm

    My son is a Captain at a fire station in Las Vegas, Nv. but you missed that one. You’ve had a great trip and I honor you for doing this, I hope you raised more dollars than you had expected to.

Leave a Reply

